Girl Talk

Standard

Tonight I had a heart to heart with my 7 year old son, consisting of girl talk. The kind of girl talk where I ask him who he thinks is pretty…yadda yadda. The answer I received tonight warmed my heart and made me so proud, with a big side of the giggles.

Me: Do you have a gf?
J:No! but armando has like six!
Me:Oh? Do they kiss?
J:No!!
Me: Have you asked anybody to be your girlfriend?
J:No!!
Me: Why not?
J:Cause!! I’m not gonna have a girlfriend until I’m in college! Or have a job!
Me:How come?
J:Cause! I’m not gonna be like Armando and having to keep that many girls happy. I’d rather just have good grades and play sports.

Ahahhahahahhhah! 7 years old and he already has relationships figured out fundamentally. I’ve done well on that one.

What I AM concerned about is why Armando feels the need to hoard all the second grade girls. I guess I didn’t realize they taught “The Art of Pimping” this early. More importantly, do these girls know about Latino men already? I mean, I’m thinking that “sharing” has been very well instilled in our young, a little too well….then again, maybe not well enough, in Armando’s case.

When did it become playground acceptable to have more than one girlfriend/boyfriend? Let’s not forget that getting to second base probably means just that, since they probably couldn’t comprehend the analogy to much more than a game of kickball. I am just floored by this bit of information tonight and I’m not sure what to think of it. I do know that I am uber-proud of my boy and the priorities he has set for himself. Though in a few years, I’m sure the little LadyKiller will have rearranged his.

Care to weigh in?

5 responses »

Leave a comment